Become RN Nurse In Wyoming + Requirements & Licensing

by NurseJournal Staff
• 3 min read
Become RN Nurse In Wyoming + Requirements & Licensing
Wyoming is a great state to enter the nursing workforce. Demand is high and growing and the average salary, according to the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, stands at $61,480 and is also growing. So how do you become a nurse in this state?


Broadly speaking, entry level nursing is a three stage process. STAGE 1. DECIDE WHETHER YOU WANT TO BECOME AN LPN (LICENSED PRACTICAL NURSE) OR AN RN. You become an LPN by completing a one year diploma program. To become an RN (registered nurse), you need to complete a two year associate’s degree (ADN) or a four year bachelor’s degree (BSN) program. The longer you study, the more in-depth your knowledge. Additionally, the higher your degree, the more job opportunities exist and the higher the salary you can expect. STAGE 2. COMPLETE THE PREREQUISITE UNDERGRADUATE COURSES. These are often required for ADN and BSN programs. It is important to do very well on these courses, as entry into the different programs is highly competitive. STAGE 3. PASS THE APPROPRIATE NCLEX EXAMINATION. The NCLEX examination for LPNs would be the NCLEX-PN, while the exam for RNs would be the NCLEX-RN.


The Wyoming State Board of Nursing has described becoming an APRN (advanced practice registered nurse) as a four stage process. STAGE 1. STUDY TOWARDS A GRADUATE DEGREE IN A CLINICAL SPECIALIZATION. The program must be nationally accredited by a nursing-related organization that is recognized by the U.S. Department of Education. The Board recognizes four clinical specialties, and the program should correspond with that. The four specialties are: 1. CRNA – Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetist 2. CNM – Certified Nurse Midwife 3. CNS – Clinical Nurse Specialist 4. CRNP – Certified Registered Nurse Practitioner Additionally, the Board has determined all programs need to include the following courses in their core curriculum: 1. Pathophysiology 2. Advanced pharmacology 3. Physical evaluation and assessment As an APRN, you may receive prescriptive authority. To be accepted, you must complete a minimum of 2 semester credit hours, 30 contact hours or three quarter credit hours in clinical management of drug therapy and pharmacology or pharmacotherapeutics in the past five years. Furthermore, as a CRNP or CNS, you can choose a population focus to specialize in. Your options are adult-gerontology, family/individual across the lifespan, pediatrics, neonatal, psychiatric – mental health and women’s health/gender. You can also become further specialized by adding an area of practice to these population foci, such as orthopedics, palliative care, oncology, nephrology, older adults and so on. STAGE 2. EARN YOUR NATIONAL CERTIFICATION IN THE RECOGNIZED CATEGORY OF PRACTICE. The Board recognizes the following national agencies: • The ANCC (American Nurses Credentialing Center), which recognizes the Adult Nurse Practitioner, Acute Care Nurse Practitioner (ACNP), Gerontological Nurse Practitioner (GNP), Family Nurse Practitioner, Adult Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse Practitioner (PMHNP), Pediatric Nurse Practitioner (PNP) and the Family Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse Practitioner (PMHNP). • The AACN (American Association of Critical-Care Nurses), which recognizes the Acute Care Nurse Practitioner. • The ONCC (Oncology Nursing Certification Corporation), which recognizes the Advanced Oncology Certified Clinical Nurse Specialist (AOCNS) and the Certified Pediatric Oncology Nurse (CPON). • The Wound, Ostomy, and Continence Nursing Certification Board, which recognizes Wound, Ostomy and Continence Advanced Practice Nurses. • The AMCB (American Midwifery Certification Board), which recognizes the certified nurse midwife (CNM). • The National Board of Certification and Recertification for Nurse Anesthetists (NBCRNA), which recognize the Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetist (CRNA). • The AANP (American Academy of Nurse Practitioners), which recognizes the Adult Nurse Practitioner and the Adult-Gerontology Primary Care NP. • The AACN (American Association of Critical-Care Nurses), which recognizes the Acute Care Nurse Practitioner. • The NCC (National Certification Corporation for the Obstetric, Gynecologic and Neonatal Nursing Specialties), which recognizes the Women’s Health Care Nurse Practitioner (WHNP) and the Neonatal Nurse Practitioner (NNP). • The PNCB (Pediatric Nursing Certification Board, which recognizes the Pediatric Nurse Practitioner in Acute Care and Primary Care. STAGE 3. BECOME RECOGNIZED AS AN APRN. This is done by completing the RN Licensure with APRN Recognition Application and including the relevant documentation and fees. You do not have to apply for prescriptive authority if it is not part of your role. However, if you have completed the prerequisites, you can pursue it through an Application for Prescriptive Authority. If accepted, your name will be listed on the Wyoming State Board of Pharmacy database. You also need to complete a full background check, including the HIPDB self inquiry report, which must be notarized. Once you have completed all necessary steps, you will receive a fingerprint card that you must process. If you have passed your national examination but haven’t received your results yet, you can apply for a Graduate Temporary Permit. This is valid for 90 days and cannot be renewed. You must complete the RN Licensure with APRN Recognition Application and include all relevant documentation. While working under this permit, you will be titled “Graduate Advanced Practice Registered Nurse” and you may not practice independently. STAGE 4. RENEW YOUR RECOGNITION BIANNUALLY IN EVEN NUMBERED YEARS BY DECEMBER 31. You will be able to access an online renewal application between October 1 and December 31. You must include relevant documentation and necessary fees. There are no continuous education (CE) requirements in Wyoming for APRNs. However, you do have to maintain your national certification, which generally means completing CE requirements. Additionally, if you hold prescriptive privileges, you have to complete at least 15 CE hours in clinical management of drug therapy and pharmacology every two years and submit proof of this. Wyoming State Board of Nursing 130 Hobbs Avenue, Suite B Cheyenne, Wyoming82002 Ph: (307) 777-7601 Fax: (307) 777-3519 Email: is an advertising-supported site. Featured or trusted partner programs and all school search, finder, or match results are for schools that compensate us. This compensation does not influence our school rankings, resource guides, or other editorially-independent information published on this site.

Are you ready to earn your online nursing degree?

Whether you’re looking to get your pre-licensure degree or taking the next step in your career, the education you need could be more affordable than you think. Find the right nursing program for you.

Popular Resources

Resources and articles written by professionals and other nurses like you.